A Break from Baking: Crockpot Chicken with Beer

Rainy day calls for some crockpot action. I never used beer before, but I know my mum uses it with pork… so, it should work with chicken too, right?
Tender Yums
Well, here’s what I tossed in the crockpot (I didn’t measure any of the ingredients, just sort of put what looked right):

• 2 boneless chicken breasts
• 1 bottle of beer (I used Blue Moon)
• pepper
• salt
• paprika
• thyme

Everything in the Crockpot
I cooked everything on low for about 7 hours and the chicken came out nice and tender.
It was quite flavorful, you could really taste the beer. I think if I were to make it again I would put more firey spices, like cayenne pepper or chili powder. The heat would possibly overshadow the bitter beer taste, making it even more enjoyable. 🙂
Complete Meal

7 thoughts on “A Break from Baking: Crockpot Chicken with Beer

  1. cmrice10 says:

    Personally, I would try a different beer next time. I’ve cooked with Blue Moon before and had the same issues. If I cook with beer, I prefer something stouter or just with more depth to the flavor. Usually, the beers I hate to drink end up being the best to cook with for me. We have used Sam Adams and Guinness several times with beer brats and they come out much more flavorful that when we use Blue Moon or Coors Light.

    • cobo0521 says:

      I totally agree and thanks for the suggestion. It was still pretty decent, but I think the fruityness of Blue Moon didn’t help the chicken as well as another beer with more in depth flavor would.

  2. Deborah Bowen says:

    You know I don’t care for beer but, it sure is a great tenderizer for pork. I love to soak brats and italian sausages in beer as well and then BBQ them. I definitely will try this recipe. Maybe a nice Hefewiezen would work?

  3. monicastangledweb says:

    I recently bought a crock pot, and this recipe sounds great. Can’t wait to try it!
    Btw, have you come down yet from the Freshly Pressed cloud? I know it took me some time. It’s so exciting, isn’t it? 🙂 Well, you really have a beautiful, and useful, blog.

  4. Lois says:

    Chicken in beer? Never heard that before but I’ll give it a go! What sort of beer – I’ve never heard of Blue Moon… is it a light beer, a sort of lager maybe?

Leave a Reply

