Cupcakery Review: Little Cakes Cupcake Kitchen

I’ve recently moved from Orange County California to San Diego County. I must admit, I love San Diego, I love it so much more than Orange County. There’s a lot more options when it comes to going out, restaurants, bars, etc. Most of all, there are tons of bakeries! I’ve discovered quite a few already and thought it would be fun to snack on their goodies and blog about it!
My most recent discovery was Little Cakes Cupcake Kitchen in Vista, CA. Wow, what great cupcakes! Apparently they were contestants on Cupcake Wars and won… yeah, they were that good.
I only got 3 cupcakes because I didn’t want to feel like too much of a heffer. After countless minutes of circling the menu and the cupcakes on display, I finally came to my 3 choices(all descriptions courtesy of littlecakeskitchen’s site):

Almond Champagne – Sweet almond cake with champagne buttercream and edible pearls.
Almond Champagne
Chocolate Mint – Chocolate cake topped with chocolate ganache, mint buttercream and crispy chocolate pearls.
Chocolate Mint
Strawberry Milkshake – Moist vanilla cake with a generous swirl of strawberry cream cheese frosting, sprinkled with rainbow sugar.
Strawberry Milkshake
I highly recommend these cupcakes, if anyone is ever in North County San Diego, make the trip! They had an amazing variety of unique cupcakes. The buttercreams weren’t stiff and super sugary like most places, they were very creamy, delicious and perfect. It was obvious that their cupcakes are freshly baked every morning. I’ll be back! ๐Ÿ™‚
All the nums

22 thoughts on “Cupcakery Review: Little Cakes Cupcake Kitchen

  1. karensdifferentcorners says:

    Wow those look yummy! I’ll have to check them out the next time I’m down that way, even though we don’t stop in Vista we usually drive straight through to La Mesa where my son lives, but looking at those, I think I need to stop!

  2. monicastangledweb says:

    I’m excited! I had no idea you’re writing from San Diego. That’s where I live, so thanks for the heads up about this cupcake place. I’m going to be sure to check it out next time I’m in that area. Great photos, btw.

  3. kinetikat says:

    Oh, you poor, poor thing! What a burden to take upon your fragile shoulders (you have fragile shoulders, right?) – but I have a sneaking feeling you’ll complete your mission! LOL
    A noble quest. And ooooh, those cupcakes look fantabulastic! Nice photos. The Almond Champagne one looks so beautiful, like a little dew-pearled rose. Almost a shame to eat it!
    (Hey, I did say ‘almost’)
    Just a damn shame I live in England. Curse you, intercontinental drift!
    *ahem*
    Sorry, I get overexcited about cake. You know how it is.

  4. amchdesign says:

    This cupcakes reminde me that I’m dreaming of an hazelnut and chocolate cake with pistachio buttercream – might be wonderful – I LOVE PISTACHIO !! I don’t know if I will find that in Paris… God, I would LOVE it !

  5. mealsfromthemarket says:

    San Diego does have some GREAT food! If you ever make your way to Las Vegas check out: http://www.retrobakerylv.com/ Kari and Brian make some AMAZING – TO DIE FOR, cupcakes! Their flavors are off the wall sometimes, but when you bite into them they are the perfect combination of flavors. They take the items you love most and put it into a sweet treat!

    • cobo0521 says:

      I’m definitely going to bookmark this! I go to Vegas pretty often, I have friends and family up there ๐Ÿ˜€
      Thanks for the recommendation! I love when places have off the wall flavors.

  6. atirahjewel says:

    Ooh, the chocolate-mint ones look so good. (Maybe because that’s one of my favorite combinations?) They all look so beautifully decorated, I gotta go there someday.

  7. Olya says:

    mmm i would love to try to re-create the chocolate mint ones. it’s one of my husband’s favorite flavor combos and i have NO idea what to do for him on his birthday this year. thanks for the idea ๐Ÿ˜‰ i would buy if san diego were a just tiiiny bit closer to moscow

    • cobo0521 says:

      Yeah… might be a bit of a drive for you to San Diego! haha.
      I think it would be a great idea to recreate that for your husband’s birthday. Chocolate and mint are one of my favorite combos too ๐Ÿ˜€

Leave a Reply

