Oatmeal cookies with Butterscotch and Walnuts

I had some rolled oats lying around and figured some oatmeal cookies were in order. I didn’t have raisins or chocolate chips… but for whatever reason, I had butterscotch chips and walnuts. Good enough for me!
Aaah yeeeah...

Ingredients (this will make 2-3 dozen cookies, depending on how big you make them):
• 1 cup of butter, softened
• 1 cup of packed brown sugar
• 1 cup of white sugar
• 2 large eggs
• 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
• 2 cups of flour
• 1 tsp. salt
• 1 tsp. baking soda
• 1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon
• 3 cups of rolled oats
• 1 cup of butterscotch chips
• 1 cup of chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 350F
In a medium bowl, cream together the butter and the two sugars. Once creamy, beat in the eggs one at a time and mix in the vanilla.
Egg in the dough
In another bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking soda and cinnamon.
Cinnamon!
Mix the dry ingredients in with the creamy mixture and then add the rolled oats, butterscotch and walnuts. Blend all of the ingredients until you have a nice cookie dough going on.
The wonderous ingredients
Grease a cookie sheet and roll the dough into balls. Place each ball onto the sheet and flatten slightly with your fingers.
Ready for the oven
Place in the oven and bake for 10-12 minutes.
Once finished, allow the cookies to cool and have at ’em!
Oatmeal cookies with butterscotch and walnuts

11 thoughts on “Oatmeal cookies with Butterscotch and Walnuts

  1. mamacormier says:

    My husband would love these. Oatmeal cookies have always been his favourite. Pairing them with his next favourite ingredient, butterscotch, makes them extra special.

  2. oldtowngal says:

    Made these tonight. The first 2 cookie sheets worth burned and got hard at 10 minutes. So I immediately turned the oven down to 350 for the remainder of the dough and let them bake for 13 minutes…. so the last 2 cookie sheets full came out perfectly. Then I made a 2nd batch (only a half-batch this time), and also did them at 350 for 13 minutes. Will definately make these again. We absolutely love the butterscotch, walnut & oats combo!!

    • cobo0521 says:

      It’s funny you made the comment because I always bake pretty much everything at 350. When I first read your comment I thought “I’m sure I baked them at 350.” I look back at my recipe and see 375! I apologize for that, I must’ve made a mistake when entering the post because it’s definitely strange for me to bake at that temperature. Thank you for pointing that out and I’m glad you enjoyed the recipe!

Leave a Reply

