Homemade Honeycomb

I first tried honeycomb when my mum bought some on a trip to Disneyland. As a child, I was willing to try anything that involved chocolate. Little did I know that the chocolate was only the beginning, it was the inside that was so magical! You’re hit with an immediate crunch and before you can even think, there is sugary, honey goodness melting ever so lovingly in your mouth.
Crumblies
As I got older, honeycomb became more and more difficult to find. I have discovered that some stores carry Violet Crumbles, but it just wasn’t quite the same. The easier and cheaper way to enjoy these amazing treats? Make ’em!
Ingredients

Ingredients:
1 cup sugar
3 tablespoons honey
3 tablespoons water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

Heat the sugar, honey, water and vanilla extract in a sauce pan over medium-high heat.
Ready to boil
Stir once to make sure all is combined, then let it boil.
Continue to heat until just before the mixture is 300F (this will be about 4-6 minutes).
Almost there!
Remove mixture from heat, add baking soda and stir well. Mixture will rise quickly.
Once everything appears to be blended well, pour honeycomb onto a greased cookie sheet or a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
So Bubbly
Once you pour, just let it sit. Don’t spread the mixture and don’t pop the bubbles! The bubbles are what gives you that awesome texture. πŸ™‚
Allow the honeycomb to cool, then break it up into as many pieces as you want!
Enjoy on it’s own or with some melted chocolate on top! (Don’t forget to store them in an airtight container)
With chocolate!?

8 thoughts on “Homemade Honeycomb

  1. Lois says:

    I have a recipe somewhere for a cake which has honeycomb in it… if I make the honeycomb myself first it will be a totally home-made cake!

  2. Natalie says:

    I love how thin this is! I’ve tried honeycomb that is really thick/in large chunks, only to spend a bit of time with my fingers in my mouth trying to pick the stuff out of my teeth 😦 This version looks perfect πŸ™‚

    • cobo0521 says:

      I’ve been there.. it’s so good, but it’s difficult to enjoy when your teeth are sticking together haha! As long as you pour the mixture over a cookie sheet, it’ll end up spreading out a little more thin. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

