My Birthday Cake: Vanilla Cake with Lemon Filling and a Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

My 24th birthday was Monday, May 21st. Saying “I baked my own birthday cake” out loud sounds sort of depressing, but I swear it wasn’t. My wonderful, amazing man bought me a bitchin’ KitchenAid mixer for my birthday! It’s official, I’m going to have to marry him now, don’t tell him I said that.
I wanted nothing more than to bake something right away. Since it was my birthday, may as well bake my own cake with my new toy! Random store bought cakes don’t usually tickle my fancy and the nice one’s from bakeries are a bit pricy anyway. We had some extra lemons lying around, and I absolutely love lemon cake… but I already baked lemon cupcakes recently, a lemon filling would have to be the next best thing.
Bare with me, as this post will be a little different. I usually have tons of photos and more details, but I mostly wanted to showcase the new mixer and my birthday cake. Plus, it was getting a bit dark and I didn’t have as much time to bake and photograph as I normally would .
DSC_0082
Lemon filling ingredients:
• 1 cup sugar
• 3 tbs. corn starch
• 2/3 cup water
• 2 tbs. butter
• 1-2 drops of lemon food coloring (if desired)
• About 1 lemon’s worth of zest
• 1/4 cup lemon juice

I started off with mixing the sugar, corn starch and water in a sauce pan over medium heat. Constantly stir until the mixture is boiling and thickening. Continue to stir while the mixture boils for another minute, then remove from heat.
Add the butter, lemon zest, lemon juice and food coloring. Stir until the butter is completely melted.
Press plastic wrap on the top of the filling and place in the fridge. The plastic will keep the filling from getting a not-so-desirable rough surface.
DSC_0060
Let’s get started on the vanilla cake!
Ingredients:
• 1 1/2 cups flour
• 1 cup sugar
• 1/2 cup butter (softened)
• 4 egg whites
• 1 tbl. vanilla extract
• 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
• 1/2 cup milk
• Dash of salt

Preheat oven to 350F.
In a large bowl, cream together the sugar and butter until smooth.
Add the egg whites one at a time, then add the vanilla extract.
In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt.
Slowly add the dry ingredients to the creamy mixture.
Add the milk and beat all of the ingredients together, until creamy.
DSC_0063
Place even amounts of batter into 2 8-inch round pans and bake for 15-20 minutes.
Cakes will be finished once a tooth pick is inserted in their centers and come out clean.
Allow the cakes to cool in their pans for a few moments. Once you’re able to handle them, remove cakes from their pans and place them on a cooling rack.

While they’re cooling off and eagerly awaiting their delicious futures… we’ll get going on the frosting.
Lemon cream cheese frosting ingredients:
• 1 (8oz) package of cream cheese
• 1/3 cup butter
• 3-4 tsp. milk
• 3-4 cups powdered sugar
• About 1 lemons worth of zest
• 1/4 cup lemon juice
• 1 tsp. vanilla

Beat the cream cheese and butter together.
Add the milk and vanilla, slowly start to beat in the powdered sugar until you reach the desired consistency.
Add the lemon zest and juice, continue to beat until smooth.
DSC_0071

To assemble the cake, place one of the cakes on your cake stand/plate. Remove your lemon filling from the fridge and slather in on the top of your first cake.
Place the second cake on top and cover the entirety of the cake with the cream cheese frosting. Zest a bit of lemon on top to garnish. I would’ve liked to have had more fruit lying around to put on top of the cake, but unfortunately I didn’t.
This cake would be great in the fridge or in room temperature. It ended up being a great birthday cake!
DSC_0074

16 thoughts on “My Birthday Cake: Vanilla Cake with Lemon Filling and a Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Kendra Lee says:

    Love your blog and happy birthday! I don’t know how you have lived so long with a KA! Now you are going to have to get all the fun attachments! I just got the ice cream maker attachment today and so excited to try it out. I’ll let you know if it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

