Chocolate Chip Cookies… with a Twist

Homemade chocolate chip cookies are one of the simple pleasures that just make life worth living… or sometimes you just need a good classic treat. I was all set to whip up some good ol’ chocolate chip cookies, but figured I may as well tweak the recipe a bit. I wanted to make sure that I created a moist, gooey cookie. Perhaps I’d melt the better, instead of using it softened and axe the egg, but throw in a little something special. Ah, what do we have here in the fridge? A pack of cream cheese. There’s no way this could turn out badly and I was certainly correct! I must say, I didn’t really taste the cream cheese in the cookies at all, but it seemed as though it gave them the exact texture and yummyness that I was hoping for! My boyfriend and I agreed that these were the best chocolate chip cookies we’ve ever had. We had no problem eating all of them on our own and only felt a little bit guilty.
DSC_0091

Ingredients (this recipe created about 2 dozen large cookies):
• 1 (8oz.) pack of cream cheese (softened)
• 1 cup butter (melted)
• 1/2 cup white sugar
• 1 cup brown sugar
• 1 tbs. vanilla extract
• 2 1/2 cups flour
• 1 tsp. baking soda
• 1/2 tsp. salt
• 2 cups of chocolate chips (about one bag)

Preheat the oven to 350F.
In a large mixing bowl, cream together the cream cheese, butter, sugars and vanilla extract until smooth.
DSC_0061
In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt.
Gradually beat the dry ingredients into the cream mixture until well blended.
DSC_0069
Here’s the part where you add the goodies! Toss in your favorite chips, nuts, whatever floats your boat. I wanted to keep it simple and just tossed in some dark chocolate chips.
DSC_0084
Place the cookie dough to your desired shape and size.
DSC_0089
Bake 10-15 minutes, I took mine out at 12 minutes and they came out golden brown on the edges and oh-so chocolatey and gooey on the inside.
DSC_0111

14 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies… with a Twist

  1. cjackplay.wordpress.com says:

    Oh! I will be trying this soon. Maybe I’ll use bittersweet chocolate chips instead of milk. Yum!

Leave a Reply

