Where the Magic Happens

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll know that I recently moved to the San Francisco Bay Area. My boyfriend received an awesome job offer and we drove up here January 1st, 2013. Heck of a way to start the new year! We were in corporate housing for a month and used that time to look for a house to rent. After countless viewing appointments and applications, we found the perfect house! Not only is it exactly what we were looking for, but it’s below our original budget! šŸ˜‰

We’ve been scrambling the past two weeks to get settled in and have very few boxes lying around at this point. I’m happy to say that it’s really starting to feel like home. I would love to give a home tour soon, but we’re still purchasing furniture and clearing out the last of the clutter. Once everything is all set, I’ll go picture crazy! You can see a lot of the pictures I post in my personal life on my Instagram account: Cobo521.

I wanted to give a little behind the scenes look at where my baking/cooking magic happens, the most important room in the house… The Kitchen.

Not that I could really complain, but there is a ton of natural lighting coming through and it will be quite obvious in the photos. I tried to take down the exposure a bit, but only so much can be done.

As you can see, I really like plants! My favorite part of this kitchen is definitely where the sink/island is. There’s a huge window that brings in so much light, making everything feel so open. Towards the back corner, you can see my “bread basket” which is literally a random basket I found with a green bow wrapped around it, some bananas, my Kitchenaid mixer and some cookies (of course)! Along the window sill, I have some candles, toothpick and some plants.
DSC_0001

Here’s the other side of the stove, where the fridge and coffee goods sits. It’s a bit hard to see with the dark backsplash, but we have a Keurig coffee machine, which is amazing! Plus, our little coffee pod carousel, my favorite is the Starbucks Sumatra and pretty much all of the teas.
DSC_0002

This is our “stuff” corner. My owl salt/pepper shakers, words cannot describe how much I love them. Then you’ll see a white board, where my boyfriend and I write sweet nothings to each other or to-do lists. Have some coupons attached to the board as well. In the giant goblet, there’s a bunch of pens and little odds and ends that we may need. The little notepad wedged in between is where I write down grocery lists, recipes, etc. The plastic container is our puppies food, she’s hardly a puppy anymore, she’ll be one year old in April! The white boxes are for mail organization, otherwise there would be paper and mail all over the counter.
DSC_0009

Anywho, this probably wasn’t as exciting of a post as I thought it would be, but at least you can see where I bake for you! St. Patrick’s Day and Easter are coming up, so I’ll be getting some recipes up for those holidays as they come. I’m thinking some treats with alcohol will be essential for St. Patrick’s Day! A carrot cake will definitely be in order for Easter as well. I hope everyone is having a great day!

One thought on “Where the Magic Happens

Leave a Reply

