Lemon Bars

I have a thing for lemon. The vibrant color and the sour taste, especially when mixed in with some sweetness… my perfect dessert. You may have guessed this already with my previous lemon recipes, the vanilla cake with lemon curd, the lemon cupcakes with kiwi frosting, I just can’t get enough. I decided to go with a classic, the lemon bar!
Powder sugared up

Ingredients for the crust:
• 1 cup butter, softened
• 1/3 cup sugar
• 2 cups flour
• 1 tsp salt
Preparing the crust

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Mix all of the above ingredients together until well blended.
Crust

Pour the mixture into a 9×13-inch pan and press firmly to line the entire bottom of the pan.

So crumbly
Bake the crust in the oven for about 15 minutes.

Remove from the oven and set aside to cool, while you create the lemon topping.
Press

Ingredients for the lemon topping:
• 4 eggs
• 1 1/2 cups sugar
• 1/3 cup flour
• 4 lemons
• Powdered sugar (optional)

Whisk the eggs, sugar and flour together.

Only use the zest of 2 lemons, but squeeze the juice out of all 4 of the lemons.

Blend all ingredients together until smooth.

Pour the mixture over the already semi-baked crust and smooth the surface with a spatula.

Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Remove from the oven and sprinkle some powdered sugar on top. Cut the bars as you like and serve!
So lemony

I put a lid on top of my 9×13-inch pan and left the bars at room temperature. They held up nicely, even after a few days. πŸ™‚

26 thoughts on “Lemon Bars

  1. SimplySage says:

    Looks luscious. Lemon bars definitely rank high on my list. Sounds like a great recipe, using both lemon zest and lemons. I can’t overlook those cute owl bowls. πŸ™‚

    • cobo0521 says:

      Luscious is such an amazing adjective for lemon bars, thank you so much! πŸ˜€
      I have a bit of an owl obsession… my mum gave them to me as a gift from Homegoods. haha

  2. Dewi says:

    These look amazing! Perfect summer treat! Thanks for sharing.

    p.s. These would be great with my limoncello mascarpone cream πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

