Thoughts on Having a Job That You Love

For the first time in my life, I have a job that I absolutely love. I never thought it was possible!

I’ll put this out there, I’ve had a lot of jobs… I mean… A LOT of jobs. I went through this phase at 18-20-ish years old that I would just change jobs like I would change my underwear. Have a bad day? Just quit! They didn’t give me the day I requested off? Just quit! Felt a little tired at the end of the day? You get the idea.

Anyway, I’ve had long term positions since then that have been fine, but they always felt like a job. You all know what I mean, you get a little grumpy on Sunday night because you know an entire week of that place you collect a check from is quickly approaching. That was me.

In Orange County, I worked at medium sized company with about 80 people. At first, I enjoyed it because it all felt so new to work at a big place at what seemed like an important role. The politics and the surplus of personalities made for an interesting place to work. Everything got old rather quickly. The customers, the product, the company, I just didn’t care. Two years in, I came home crying almost every day in one week, just pure frustration. I was done. I was very lucky though, I lived with a man that loved and supported me 100%… and he ended up getting a job offer in San Diego a few weeks later anyway! Perfect timing!

I had a job in San Diego that was, by far, the worst job I had ever had. The owner was the most disgusting man I had ever met. He would belittle, bully and scream at his own employees. I noticed his “character” during my interview, I should’ve saw the signs! I was being interviewed by these two lovely women that actually pumped me up for the job. They liked me enough to where they wanted me to meet the owner. He reluctantly came into the conference room, as if he was being so inconvenienced. They happily explained my qualifications to him and asked him if he had any questions for me, all he said was “Uh… no. The job’s not exactly rocket science.” Then he walked out. They laughed and then asked me if I’d accept the position. I assumed that if they laughed, he had to have been kidding!… right? I put up with that place as long as I could, but then I realized how ridiculous it was to make money for this man. No notice whatsoever, I came in one day, told him that I don’t want to work for him and left.

Enough of the bad and the ugly, here’s the good. I found a place I love and it was completely unexpected! I work at a family law firm, where every day is a little different, the clients are crazy and my co-workers are even crazier (in a very good way). This job challenges me, I don’t do the same dull tasks that I’ve been cursed with in previous positions. I work for two unbelievable attorney’s that trust me enough to throw me into a project I never would have dreamed to do. Of course there’s stressful days, angry clients and hectic schedules, but that’s what keeps us moving. The fact that the most intense days don’t break me, just shows that this is the job for me. Will I be at this firm forever? Probably not, but I love it now and it makes every day at work a good day.

One thing I have learned, is that the one thing that can make or break any job is the relationships you build. I’ve made great friends at both the good and bad jobs. Those are the people that help you get through the bad days and make the good days even better. I’m lucky enough to work with the most amazing 5 women and it’s the best feeling to look forward to being at work during the morning commute.

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on Having a Job That You Love

  1. laurenaharden says:

    Love this post! We are all so lucky to work together at such a great firm. I mean endless cups of coffee with vanilla creamer, an overflowing candy drawer, and fabulous dinners . . . what more could we ask for 😉

  2. Louise says:

    I’m with you on this one! I’m a month into a new job, having spent two years in a role I hated almost every day of once the novelty wore off. It’s so refreshing to have a boss who trusts me and wants to challenge me and help me develop. Hope you keep loving yours!

Leave a Reply

