Work Outfit of the Day – Pencil Skirt and Black Wedges

One of my favorite type of blog posts is a good ol’ “Outfit of the Day.” The only thing that I have noticed is that there aren’t many “Work Outfit of the Day” posts. As a working girl that has to stick to business casual attire, it’s nice to get ideas for work.

Somedays I put more effort into my appearance than others, but on this particular day… I didn’t feel like doing my hair or taking too much time to do my makeup. The best way for me to make up for the fact that my hair/makeup is less than impressive is to dress a bit nicer.

Clothes – Banana Republic black sweater; Merona black t-shirt; Kardashian Kollection pencil skirt; Jessica Simpson suede black wedges.
Jewelry – Necklace, made by my friend Mandey.; Gold rings, heirlooms from Grandma and Mom.
Makeup – Mac Studio Finish Concealer, NC15; Benefit Hoola Bronzer; Nars Deep Throat Blush; Benefit They’re Real Mascara; Maybelline Clear Mascara (for brows); Maybelline Touchable Taupe lipstick.


Every woman needs a pencil skirt, nothing will make you feel prettier. Plus, you can easily pair it with a t-shirt and the outfit will still look dressy!

8 thoughts on “Work Outfit of the Day – Pencil Skirt and Black Wedges

  1. Lisa says:

    What’s your take on Benefit They’re Real Mascara? I’m a devoted Smashbox fan, and so in love with their mascara – but have been intrigued by all the hype on Benefit.

    • cobo0521 says:

      Well, I absolutely love Benefit’s Bad Gal Lash, but I cringe having to spend $18-$20 on mascara. So I just splurge every once in a while for that. They’re Real! is a sample that I received and I like the formula (I prefer drier formulas), but the brush has little spikey things that I never fail to stab my eye with. I like having the sample, but I don’t think I would ever purchase the full size, not a fan of the brush. 🙂
      I don’t believe I have ever tried Smashbox mascara though, which one is your holy grail?

      • Lisa says:

        Interesting – I don’t think I’d do so well with that brush either! I love Smashbox Full Exposure in black. I have very light and fine lashes, so I need all the boost that I can get. Smashbox gives me more lift and volume than I had even hoped for! The effect is stunning, and it’s a traditional brush (aka, easy to use.) It’s equally as expensive, but mascara is a must (aka splurge) for me – I save in other makeup areas. I definitely recommend it if you can get a hold of a sample or are curious to try a tube!

      • cobo0521 says:

        Hmmm, I will definitely have to give it a shot. I’m always up for trying new mascaras. I too have fine lashes, so any help is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

