Homemade Turkey Chili

Even though the temperatures in California still have not hopped on the Autumn train, I am boycotting the warmth and bringing on my favorite season anyway! I have laced up my boots, thrown on a sweater and put the dark lipstick on! I will continue to slap 72 degrees fahrenheit in the face until it’s cooler. I can’t tell you how excited I get when I see dark clouds outside, it gives me the automatic right to cook some homemade chili (which is exactly what I did).

I prefer to cook chili with ground turkey meat, kidney beans and pinto beans, but feel free to switch out per your preference! Chili is easy to put together and the leftovers are just as amazing. This recipe creates about 6 servings.

Mmmm, can you smell it?

Ingredients:
• 1 pound of ground turkey meat
• 1 8oz. can of tomato sauce
• 1 15oz. can of kidney beans
• 1 15oz. can of pinto beans
• Ground Chili Pepper
• Salt
• 1 Garlic clove, finely chopped
• Ground cumin
• Dried oregano
• Onion powder
• Ground paprika
• Ground cayenne
• 1/4 cup Corn masa flour
• 1/3 cup of water

First things first, break the turkey meat up into small pieces and cook in a large skillet over medium/high heat until cooked all the way through (it will turn white).

Pour the cooked meat into a large strainer and rinse with water to ensure the fat/grease is not invited to the chili show.

Pour the meat into a large pot, pour in the 8oz. can of tomato paste, then fill the same 8oz. can with water and toss that into the pot as well. Then you’re going to add your beans (I pour out about half of the canned bean juices and then pour the remaining half into the pot) and all of the spices! I did not include measurements because I just add as I go, taste, add some more if necessary. However, if you prefer a more mild chili, you may want to forfeit the cayenne.




Stir it all up and cook on high heat until you see it start to bubble. Lower the heat, cover and let simmer for about 20 minutes.

If you like a thicker chili, like I do, combine the corn masa flour and water. It will become a thick paste. Once you allow your chili to simmer and all the spices are exactly where you want them, pour in the corn masa flour mixture into the chili and let simmer for another 5 minutes or so.


Sprinkle some cheese on top, grab yourself some crackers and get down on some chili goodness. The leftovers can be refrigerated in tupperware for about 3-4 days.

One thought on “Homemade Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

