A Lovely Day in New York

Considering I have been to New York before, I have already done the tourist bit that included the 9/11 Memorial, Time Square, Statue of Liberty, etc. Now whenever I make the trip, I just do little things that I would do if I lived there.

My most recent visit was in the dead of Winter, which means I did not ride a bike around the park or sit at a lovely patio seated restaurant; however, I thoroughly enjoyed grabbing a cup of coffee while walking through Central Park, catching a movie, shopping and enjoying the museums.

On this particular day, I met up with Chris during his lunch break and we briefly walked through the park to check out the ice rink. The skyline, the snow, the people, it was perfect.




I mentioned in a previous post that I was hoping to do Winter Outfits of the Day in New York… but, I don’t think I realized how cold it would be. Yeah, there was no way I would be fashionable over warm! So, this is as stylish as I could get. Keep in mind that this was probably the warmest day during our trip, so everything before/after this was quite bundled up.




When he went back to work, I was on my own. I continued to walk through the park, enjoyed some Birch coffee and then made my way over to the Shops at Columbus Circle. This place had some great shopping and dining options. Everything you needed in one lovely shopping center. I was happy to see that one floor would have high end shops, such as Michael Kors and Coach, but then you had the more affordable shops like H&M and J Crew.
I so badly wanted to grab lunch at Bouchon Bakery, it smelled soooo good and looked like my sort of place… but it was packed, so I moved right along. I knew I wanted to catch a movie afterward, so a pretzel at the movie theater would hold me over until I decided on a nifty lunch spot.



Then it was on to the movie theater to see “The Theory of Everything”… great movie. Highly recommend, if you haven’t seen it already.



After my movie, I grabbed some lunch at Melt, which I gave a review of in my Food in New York post. In case you don’t feel like clicking to read, I had a maple bacon grilled cheese with tomato soup and it was grrrreat!

Anyway, it may not seem like much… but I can honestly say it was my favorite day during our trip to New York. I was able to spend some time with Chris, had some glorious coffee, walked through a snow filled Central Park and spent some alone time with shopping and a movie. What did one of your favorite days include?

Leave a Reply

