Salsa Verde Crockpot Chicken

Salsa Verde Crockpot Chicken is a staple meal in my household. I first got the idea from an old friend of mine that came to work one day with some leftovers. As soon as she reheated it in the microwave, I had to ask “what is this glorious smell?!?!” She went into detail about the ingredients that she threw together in her saute pan and I knew immediately that I wanted to create it at home; however, I’ve done some tweaking over the past couple years and I have now perfected the recipe to my taste.

What’s even better about this recipe is that it is quite healthy and versatile! I typically serve this meal as a bowl, which includes quinoa and lettuce. But again, you can switch it up to your liking, it’s great on it’s own, in a wrap, with rice or in a salad.

Ingredients (4 servings):
• Two boneless, skinless chicken breasts
• Your favorite jar of salsa verde
• Ground cumin
• Cayenne pepper
• 2-3 Garlic cloves, minced
• Oregano
• 1 cup of plain greek yogurt or sour cream (I used greek yogurt)
• 1 15oz can of beans of your choice (I typically go with black beans or great northern beans)
• Fresh cilantro
• Lime



To get started, bring out the ol’ crockpot, place the chicken breasts into the crockpot and pour the salsa verde over top until the chicken is covered (leave some leftover salsa verde to drizzle on top in the end!). Now sprinkle your desired amount of cumin, cayenne pepper, garlic and oregano on top of the salsa verde dressed chicken.

Turn the temperature on high for 3.5 hours or on low for 6 hours.

This is when your house starts smelling incredibly good.

Now that the chicken is cooked through, open up the crockpot and use two forks to shred the chicken.

Mix in the greek yogurt (or sour cream) and the can of beans (drained and cleaned). Stir everything up nicely and then place the lid back on the crockpot to cook on low for another 15-30 minutes. Use this time to prepare the other parts of your meal (this is when I cooked my quinoa, washed the lettuce, etc.)



Once the salsa verde chicken is ready to go, I placed the deliciousness into a bowl along with freshly cooked quinoa, lettuce, fresh cilantro and freshly squeezed lime juice.

This recipe also makes great leftovers that will last in the fridge for about 3-4 days in tightly closed tupperware. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

