BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream Review

I’ve been in the market for a new tinted moisturizer. When I walked into Ulta, the first thing I saw was the BareMinerals goodies at the front of the store. I don’t have many BareMinerals products, so I figured it was worth a look. I noticed the Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream and was immediately intrigued, especially when I saw the color Opal. As someone with very very fair skin, I have a hard time finding foundations, tinted moisturizers, etc., mostly because nothing is ever pasty white enough! However, Opal blended so perfectly into my milky white hand that I knew I had to try it.

My skin is quite dry and it can be sensitive, if there’s fragrance, alcohols or some other funky ingredient, I will likely break out. So, being fair with dry, sensitive skin can make for some challenging beauty product shopping!

I wanted to provide a thorough review on the product, so I will be giving you my first impression of the application, the wear throughout the day and how my skin reacted after a few days of use.

My initial reaction to the squeezing the product onto my hand was that it has an almost whipped, fluffy texture. Not your typical liquid tinted moisturizer, but I thought the texture was nice. I applied the product with my fingertips, as suggested on the label and I can best describe it as a “cool” feeling on the skin. First, I applied about a pea sized amount of product onto my skin, but because my skin is so dry… it drank this stuff up immediately. Basically, if you have dry skin, you better apply quickly!
I ended up applying a total amount of product that was about the size of a kidney bean.

On the left, I am bare faced (with the exception of mascara) and on the right, I am wearing the BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream. You can see that the texture and tone of my skin is more even.

My skin tone was noticeably more even and my skin texture was much smoother in appearance. There was also a lovely, healthy glow to my skin. The product claims to be good for all skin types and I can definitely see that as a possibility. However, I would keep in mind that the coverage is very minimal. I have relatively good skin that doesn’t necessarily require a lot of coverage, plus I generally prefer a more natural coverage and finish.

I completed the rest of my makeup and didn’t bother applying any sort of finishing powder because I have such dry skin and there was no way I was going to cover up this lovely glow I had going on! I periodically checked to see how well my face was holding up and I can honestly say my face never went dull or blotchy. Even as the product slowly began to fade away, my skin tone and texture continued to look smooth all day and I could not be more pleased!

After a couple days of wearing this product, I started to notice tiny little pimples that seemed to appear in sad clusters on my chin and cheeks. Obviously this was very disappointing, but I continued to use the product for the sake of science! I gave it a week, yet the tiny pimples remained and continued to happen. I wanted to make sure that it was the tinted gel causing this, so I stopped using it for one week… and they went away.

It’s safe to say that I will not be purchasing this product again, as my dry, sensitive skin did not fare well after daily use. However, I still recommend the BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream to those who do not have such sensitive skin. It provides a lovely natural finish, evens out skin tone and lasts well throughout the day.

With that being said, does anyone have any tinted moisturizers/BB creams/CC creams that are a must try?! I’m still on the hunt! 🙂

3 thoughts on “BareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream Review

    • cobo0521 says:

      Thank you so much! I’ve had great experiences with Juice Beauty skincare, didn’t even think to try their BB Cream. Definitely going to give it a shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

